Perfectionism

Someone asked me recently why I don’t go back to something I’ve been involved in heavily for the last 6-7 years, but recently stopped participating in. I was pretty ashamed of my (internal) answer: Because I might not be the best anymore.

Why do people feel the need to be perfect? I don’t want to go back to something that I may no longer be the best at. Not just good at, not that I might not enjoy it anymore, but that I might not be the best. and it’s the same in everything I do. Once I’ve stopped doing something, I don’t want to have to relearn it, or even “get up to speed” on it. I feel like I should just be able to step back into something, like I never left. Is this a tendency of a perfectionist?

Or is this just my pride?

Leave a Reply

